Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Home


Home page > Research activities > Magneto-science

Français

Magneto-science

"Magneto-science" deals with the studies of the magnetic fields effects on physical, chemical and biological process. From macroscopic scale to atomic scale, it makes use of magneto-static forces and torques, of electromagnetic coupling and of magneto-static energy contribution.

At the macroscopic scale, the magneto-static force can simulate microgravity, and provide on earth experiments that would otherwise be performed in free fall towers or in space. The same forces can also control convection in fluids where magnetic properties depends on temperature.

At the microscopic scale, magneto-static and electromagnetic couplings play a major role in materials processing: it is then possible to control texture, to modify the shape of crystals, of dendrites.

At the atomic scale, a huge effect is observed on the shift of thermodynamic equilibrium temperature, such as in steels : magnetic energy then provides a new lever to control processes, in addition to classical thermal and mechanical treatments, hence leading to new processing routes.

Some magnetic effects are quite well known, and open the way to innovative experiments, such as in the field of magnetically simulated micro-gravity. Other mechanisms, such as the polarization of atomic diffusion are still to be explored.

Non coalescence and bouncing of levitated liquid droplets (E. Beaugnon et al. / Physica B 294295 (2001) 715720)

 

Members of the lab involved : Eric Beaugnon, François Debray

 

For further information magnetoscience.org

Partenaires

CNRS Universite Grenoble Alpes UPS LaNEF INSA TOULOUSE EMFL NEXT

Accueil


Accueil du site > Thèmes de recherche > Magnéto-science

English

Magnéto-science

"Magnéto-Science", désigne l’étude des effets des champs magnétiques sur les procédés physique, chimiques et biologiques. Il s’agit d’exploiter les effets des forces et couples magnéto-statique, des couplages électro-magnétiques et de l’énergie magnéto-statique, de l’échelle macroscopique à l’échelle atomique.

A l’échelle macroscopique, on exploite la force magnéto-statique pour simuler la micro-gravité et réaliser en laboratoire des expériences autrement réalisées dans des tours à chute libre ou dans l’espace. Ces mêmes forces peuvent également contrôler la convection dans les fluides où les propriétés magnétiques dépendent de la température.

A l’échelle microscopique, les couplages magnétiques et électromagnétiques jouent un rôle important en élaboration des matériaux : il est possible de contrôler la texture cristalline, de modifier la forme des cristaux, des dendrites...

A l’échelle atomique, on observe dans certains systèmes (par exemple les aciers) un effet important sur les températures d’équilibre thermo-dynamique : on dispose ainsi d’un nouveau levier, qui s’ajoute aux traitements thermiques et mécaniques conventionnels, pour trouver de nouvelles voies d’élaboration de matériaux.
Certains effets sont très bien connus, et permettent d’inventer de nouvelles conditions expérimentales, par exemple en micro-gravité simulée.

Non-coalescence et rebond de gouttes en lévitation (E. Beaugnon et al. / Physica B 294295 (2001) 715720)

D’autres sont encore à explorer comme l’effet sur la diffusion atomique, effet observé dans plusieurs systèmes métallurgiques, avec des résultats variables et pour lequel on ne dispose pas de modèle communément admis.

 

Membres du laboratoire impliqués  : Eric Beaugnon, François Debray

 

Pour plus d’informations : magnetoscience.org